CoffeePotter

By CoffeePotter

Bye bye baby

This was my last cuddle with Beck, whilst trying hard not to cry - me that is, not the baby. I was thinking of blipping the empty cot, but I'm making an attempt to be positive.

I was ok yesterday, about our little family leaving tomorrow. Then, thanks to the efficiency of Emirates Airline, we suddenly found out by text that they were leaving today and not tomorrow as we all thought.

Evidently they'd asked their agent to book 13th June as the "to" date and they must have taken it that they wanted to be back in Taiwan by that date, on not leaving the UK. Therefore we've lost a whole precious 24 hours, and all our plans for today's farm visit and tonight's barbecue have gone out of the window.

I couldn't drive them to Heathrow as I would be incapable of driving back tearful and with a crashing headache. We couldn't both go as we can't all fit in one car with the child seats etc.

We don't know when we shall see them again - probably in a year's time. Or where - we may meet up somewhere in Asia for a holiday together rather than us go to Taiwan.

Our son dropped a bombshell. He told his Dad that they wouldn't be coming back here again on holiday.

The next time they come back, it will be to move to the UK.

I've been waiting for those words for ten and a half years.

When depends on many things - selling their house in Taiwan, (they can't sell too soon because of their equivalent of capital gains tax) sorting out work here (he has plans regarding that already, and has several options; he speaks fluent Chinese Mandarin so hopefully will be able to use that) and buying a house over here. So we're not talking tomorrow, or even next year probably.

However, it's a start.

I should be delirious about that, I know. But right now, I'm in a very sad place.

Selfish I know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.