WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Purple patch

I've had a purple patch of no bugs or breaks recently but I am definitely fighting something off. So, today has been a pottering kind of a day where I've not really sat down but I've not done anything energetic.

I have discovered that the colour purple was chosen for the phrase purple patch because the colour was reserved for emperors and other distinguished people in ancient Rome. It is the literary equivalent of adding a patch of purple material to a plain item of clothing.

When I went to try to identify this hoverfly, I found there were over 250 to choose from so it was there I stopped. Instead, I shall call it the purple emperor hoverfly because of how it has alighted in a rather regal pose to the purple backdrop of my clemetis.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.