daybyday

By designbyday

African Woman

In 2003 I travelled for 2 weeks through South Africa with my dad & brother. We began in Cape Town and ended in Jo'burg taking a short flight in a tiny plane between Port Elizabeth and Durban to lessen time spent on the road.

A short drive from Durban is Howick. Howick is where my dad's sister and her husband emmigrated to in 1976 and later had 3 children. I had met my cousins and aunt a couple of times before when they made trips to the UK. This would be my first opportunity to visit them in their home town and the first (and last) chance for me to meet my uncle.

South Africa is by far one of my favourite ever holidays. Before this I had never been to such a beautiful and colourful country and yet still quite divided by cultures/people at the same time. It was a holiday and an education.

I bought my African woman from a craft shop in Howick. I fell in love with her because she represented the women I had seen on this journey. I love her even more now as she reminds me of my aunt and uncle who sadly both passed away shortly after our holiday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.