Raubrey

By raubrey

Roses

Those of you who follow me on twitter will have seen a similar shot I took a few days ago of this piece of public art. Today I went back to the park specifically to take another photograph as this piece of graffiti art.

I have no idea who created it, or even whether the local council endorses it. I cannot recall any unveiling. I do remember that I walked down the path one day and it was just there.

To give you an idea of size, that concrete supporting column is around 16ft high. It was certainly a lot of cherry red paint!

The piece has a strange allure to it. Behind the romanticism of the roses, I do think it is a rather creepy image of a girl and somehow reminiscent of the memento mori photographs that the Victorians liked so much.

I guess I walk past this maybe 6-8 times per month and I never tire of seeing it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.