blip art :: xb

By xb

203 [frozen assets]

The temperatures have been below zero almost since the snow started on 17 December, but today the thaw arrived with the mercury hitting a massive 5C! It was amazing how much snow had disappeared between me leaving for work, and arriving home again - a good four inches from the back wall.

The thaw brought with it a small problem... This morning, I put on my warm, black, winter coat and tootled off to work. At lunchtime, I headed over to Tesco with my friend Leanne to pick up some shopping and, after loading the conveyor belt at the check-out, I realised I had left my wallet in the waterproof, grey, outdoor jacket that I'd been wearing for the last week or so, which was hanging up at home.

Me: "S**t. I've not got my wallet!"

Leanne: "Ha ha, nice try Mister!"

Me: "No, seriously. I've not got my wallet"

Leanne: (laughing) "Well this is your blonde moment for today!"

(Cheers dude, most helpful)


Luckily, I was picking up lunch for a colleague and I had the change from her £20. So, like a schoolboy counting his pocket money for a week's supply of penny chews, I counted my money out loud with the cashier. The change, along with the coins I had in my pocket, came to £23.72 of the £23.78 I was due - just 6p short! I held out the begging bowl to Leanne to assist with the remaining 6p, and she handed over a potentially awkward situation saving 20p coin. (Thanks dude).

So, a handy tip for all you folks for tomorrow and beyond. Before going shopping, before filling your trolley, and certainly before unloading your trolley onto the conveyor belt... make sure you have sufficient funds. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.