Mostly Photos

By Pixelstate

When the lions drink, London will sink!

I spent Thursday evening being a bit of a tourist in London. I walked on the shores of the Thames, drank beer on the SouthBank and even went for a spin on the London Eye :-)

I saw this chap on my trip down to the shores of the river (not sure if you are allowed to go there but there are no signs saying no!)

I went back to get a shot for today's Blip (I had to post a world cup related Blip yesterday didn't I?)

The Title is from an old rhyme about the London Lyons.
Designed by Timothy Butler and installed as part of Sir Joseph Bazalgette's Victorian sewage works programme in 1868-70

"When the lions drink, London will sink"
"When it’s up to their manes, we’ll go down the drains"
"When the water is sucked, you can be sure we’re all ... in trouble"

I posted some snaps from my Thursday evening in London on Flickr

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.