The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Buttercup

A few days ago, I blipped Gus bounding joyfully through the buttercups. It was a different story today. The sickness he had on Wednesday returned venomously yesterday evening, and he was very ill in the night. I took this at about 6 am on the Knott, he dragged himself up the hill behind me. He woke me up with his barking, desperate to go out. This was about the only sunshine we saw all day, here picking up the glinting dew drops.

I worked at home to keep an eye on him. He has perked up a little this evening, but he is way below par.

And the botany lesson - this is a bulbous buttercup, distinguished from the other two very common buttercups by the reflexed sepals. There's a head of white clover in the bottom of the shot. These flowers are the beneficiaries of the winter grazing by woolly cows, the Knott is so much more flowery than it was a few years ago,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.