Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Off kilter

A frustrating day. Feel free to skip the harangue that follows.

I washed my old cell phone in my trousers recently, so I had to buy a new one. I decided to try a "smart" phone, but as I can't afford a contract and data charges, I opted to buy a pre-pay "android" phone. For those who don't know what that means, you buy a card with so many minutes and days on it (days and minutes calculated separately, usually 60 minutes for 90 days). Today, trying to set up my voice mail for the new phone, I found that if I let the days expire (as I often did with my last phone) the company will close my account and take away my phone number. So of course I wanted to know how many minutes and how many days I have left. For that, I had to get an app. In order to get the app, I had to get Google Plus. I couldn't get the password to work on Google Plus. First I got a message saying my Wifi wasn't working, but it was. Then they kept telling me I had the wrong password, and when I would change the password and try to use it, they told me I had the wrong password. Again. Called the phone company. Waited an hour. Talked with someone who spoke halting and heavily accented English who kept telling me, "Helving my corpuler to arise, wait minutes preeze." This is the kind of morning I had.

So I took a nice long walk to Powell's Bookstore to clear my head, discharge my tension, and pick up two books I'd ordered. In Powell's, I spotted this book about Rei Kawakubo's fashion designs. I don't know who the photographer for the cover was, and I don't give a damn about fashion, and what I found on the internet about Kawabuko did not inspire me, but that off-kilter look? That's how I'm feeling. The reflected light, the scratch across the model's face, and the decapitation--that's my contribution to the picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.