filledwithlight

By filledwithlight

How they grow. ..

24 years ago today was one of the happiest days of my life - the day I became a mom.

I spent this evening watching our second son pack his things for another summer as a camp counselor - a job at which he excels and that feeds his soul. The house will soon be empty again. Empty of our children, that is. It makes me long for the days when families all stayed in one place, or even one house.

As he was sifting through his things, he came upon this old red toy fireman's hat, and then pulled out the old photo of himself wearing it 15 years ago. So much has happened in all those years. I loved the boys as children, with their joy, silliness, tenderness, and affection. While I miss that, I'm so proud of the young men they've become - empathetic, thoughtful, caring, smart, and kind.

Happy Birthday to my son. Happy happy me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.