Boobs & Brass

I have just returned (Saturday, hence the back-blip) from my first visit to the Saddleworth & District Whit Friday Band Contests where more than 100 bands participate at several of over 20 venues scattered around the moorland villages and towns on the western edge of the Pennines; more info here.

The contest starts at 4pm and goes on past midnight and I was playing with the City of Bristol Brass Band. We had a thoroughly enjoyable time, which continued well into the small hours when we got back to the hotel - it's a very long time since I witnessed daybreak before getting to bed!!

Anyway, back to my blip. This brass band are actually called Boobs & Brass and were formed originally from a group of ladies for a one-off concert to raise money for the Dept of Kettering General Hospital and the Breast Cancer Campaign. Such was it's success that the band continued and has grown from strength to strength, raising many thousands of pounds for charity at numerous concerts around the UK. They received a very warm and generous welcome to the Whit Friday March Contests and deservedly so. You can see that the trombones are in pink to match their uniforms which makes a glorious sight to accompany their great playing. You might also see some men in the ranks, a reminder that breast cancer also affects the male population. More info on Boobs & Brass here.

I'm hoping that my visit to this event is not my last as it's been a real highlight of my 40 plus years as a bandsman.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.