Inverculain

By Inverculain

The new girls

Back in April, I blipped a picture of one of our neighbours' chickens, Ruthie.

Very sadly, Ruthie passed away last week. Today, though, our neighbours invited us round to meet the latest additions to their brood - three seven-week-old chicks. They are, from left to right:

Bessie (III)
Ruthie (II)
Tilly (I!)

Tilly was something of a rescue case. You can't see from this angle, but she was picked on by the other birds in her previous home, and her back and wings are pecked raw and in places featherless. Her new "parents" are very used to dealing with "inter-chicken issues", and I know she'll be well looked after and will no doubt soon thrive.

I'm not normally the type to get affectionate towards chicakens (unlike my daughter!), but I have to say that even I found these little darlings incredibly sweet and cute! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.