Wild things

"They made my heart sing" ;-)
We went to a friend's 60th birthday party today and he lives in the North East of The Netherlands in Twente on a farming estate. Both husband and I studied engineering in Delft, husband chemical engineering (Chemie) and I structural engineering (Bouwkunde), that's where we met (well, to be honest , we didn't meet in the university buildings, we met in the student club). The friend whose birthday it was today is one of husband's study mates, even after all these years, the boys/men of this student club year are still very good friends who meet up as often as possible. I really can't get my head around the 60th birthday , no way are we all heading towards that ;-)
All study mates had been invited with partner to come celebrate and we had a brilliant day catching up and even being a tiny bit sportive (we did a spot of 'klootschieten', which is like 'jeu de boules' but while doing a walk ). After which we congregated in their garden for drinks and dinner. This is their wild flower garden with a very cute scarecrow :-) Festive Dutch flag ribbons probably have something to do with the World Cup. Here's another picture of their neighbour's gallery barn and arty pencils at the entrance, we had coffee and lunch over there

Thanks very much for your comments on yesterday's foxglove Blip. I am so sorry that I'm so behind with my own comments, but we were driving off very early today and only returned an hour ago

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.