Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Bear Hug

This might be one of the sweetest pictures, if not THE sweetest picture that I have ever taken. It pulls at my heart strings not only because it shows a precious moment, but because behind the scenes, I know the kind of love, dedication and commitment that has been built among these "bear huggers".

Grandparents lovingly referred to as Nona and HP (Huge Pop) by their three grandkids. My parents are completely devoted to their grandchildren. The kids have them wrapped around their little fingers. When Nona and HP are visiting, everything else fades away in the background. Nona and HP take celebrity status with our kids because they continue to be so in tune and so immersed in their lives. They live out of town yet they prioritize their time in a way that allows them to see each of their grandchildren at least once a month for a three to four day visit, if not more. The decisions they make, the vacations they plan.....all revolve around us and their precious grandbabies. As a young mother, they are the example that I hope to lead by. When I am a grandparent, I pray that I will have the good health and the energy that they have so that I can expose my grandchildren to the same beautiful moments that create lasting memories and a strong foundation of love. Our kids are so fortunate to have wonderful Grandparents on both sides of our family and they are benefiting from that. They know how much they are loved and how much they are valued. They know that they have grandparents who adore them "ALL THE WAY to the moon and back" as my son would say.

Today, Nona and HP came by for a short little visit. They were on their way to spend time with close family friends, one of which is awaiting a lung transplant. Nona and HP just could not drive through town without seeing their angels so they took the time to take us out to lunch. When they walked into our house, all activity stopped instantly. My kids jumped up and started running for the door (actually hopping, skipping and prancing), screaming "Nooooooooooona, H-PPPPPPP". They were greeted with the biggest bear hugs ever and I was following close behind with....yes you guessed right, my camera. I love this picture because of what it portrays: Two small children just hanging in the arms of their grandparents. HP holding onto everyone with his protective arms and Nona just giddy with delight. This was a true moment. It's a moment that occurs every single time my parents walk through our front door.

When my kids were each born, Nona and HP were here. As I knew I was going into labor with my son, a quick phone call was made and they were out the door and on the road. They spent the entire day at the hospital pacing the halls, visiting with us, and anticipating the arrival of their first grandchild. HP even went so far as to be shoo'd out of the doorway time and time again by the nurses when he could hear my cries from afar. But that is my HP. Always the protector. Always the provider. And always the piece of steady ground that we have stood on our entire lives. And don't think Nona wasn't right behind him. She just had the quickness to escape the evil eye of the nurse before she came charging. She has always been our comforter, our source of reason, and the calm that we have grown accustomed to since we were young children. And when our daughter was born, they were here two days before to care and look after our son. With each newborn grandchild, HP always insisted on getting his "one on one" rocking time in the middle of the night. He explained that that was how he bonded with each of our children. This dedication and devotion was there from the beginning and it will continue to be there until the end.

Nona and HP are unique and truly special influences in our lives. I hope that you both know how much you mean to all of us. How much of an impact you have and are continuing to have in all of our lives. I am speaking directly to you because I know that you are devoted blip followers as well. We are all better and more well rounded people because of the two of you and the constant love, laughter, easy bantering (HP), and "oh what new thing is she onto now" (Nona). It is what keeps life so real and so interesting for us. We love you, we cherish you. Most of all, WE ADMIRE YOU!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.