June challenge: Day 11 .......

Citizen Kane.

I must confess to not seeing very many of the movies in this movie challenge.

I do remember that one of the most famous lines from Citizen Kane is "Rosebud" uttered by the dying title character played by Orson Welles.

And like many people (including a character in the movie) I assumed that Rosebud referred to a woman. But after reading the movie summary I have learned (spoiler alert!) that Rosebud was the name of a sled from Kane's childhood–an allusion to the only time in his life that he was truly happy. The sled, thought to be junk, is burned in a basement furnace by Xanadu's departing staff.

I had to sneak next door to my neighbors house in order to get a photo of her beautiful roses. As you can see, it's been raining.

This isn't as clever as Catizen Kane, but I like it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.