Family Dog

By Family_Dog

Neneh Cherry!

Cheeeeesin' after a pretty amazing day at Sonar yesterday. We were lucky to have connections through our friend Elena who we're staying with and got massively reduced tickets. After much humming and hawing about which day to go to (I couldn't see past Buraka Som Sistema on the Friday)we all agreed Saturday was the best day. It meant we could all go together as Tom and Elena and their friends were off work - and tucked away in the line up, I'd completely missed the fact that Neneh Cherry was playing.

Decision made. Fate sealed.

She is one hot lady that's for sure. Every bit as sassy and funny and downright bloody amazing as I could have hoped her to be. It was amazing to see her, I squeezed up to the very front (v v unusual for me at concerts) and danced my butt off. She was a total teenage hero for me so I'm glad I have seen her at last.

After Neneh we wandered here and there between the bands and the bars and tried to avoid the searing sunshine. Ooft. Roasting beyond belief - I don't think I've ever been so happy to see clouds!!

Last up was DJ Harvey who our friend Robbie had seen recently. He loved it so much we knew we were in for a treat and he didn't disappoint, although it felt like he was only on for half an hour. He wasn't - but it wasn't enough that's for sure.

We tripped home along wee side streets and the metro and more wee side streets and made it back home for 11 for more drinks and music and sitting about listening to Spanish people talk crap to each other. Being rather experienced in after-party chat I didn't need to talk the same language to know exactly what kind of conversations were happening around us and it made me happy to know that deep down, folk are pretty much the same the world over.

Last day today (Sunday). Presents to be bought. Tapas to be eaten. Cava to be drunk. Sun to be out in. Murder plane back home (there will be a LOT of broken people on it after 3 solid days of Sonar) and babies to kiss.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.