Tunnel Busking...

The return of the 'after kids are in bed' projects with avengence restarted last night. One of the two main projects led me to take a wee stroll along to Helios Fountain at lunch today.

My preferred route from Lothian Road is along King's Stables Road and more or less as soon as I rounded the initial bend I could hear, inspite of having Beck blaring in my ears trying to compensate for what I think might be a slightly faulty left earphone, some saxaphone music coming from somewhere in the distance.

It turned out to be this man right here standing the road tunnel busking away on what looked like a bass saxaphone. If I picked him up right, his name is Lotus Leaf and he's from Southern India although has been living in Scotland for 14 years.

We had a wee chat and it turns out he is a rather accomplished photographer as well as he gave me a note of his Flickr account. Here, check it out for yourself, I think there is some amazing photos in there.

He was playing in the tunnel because he can't practice at home because it is a rather loud instrument but I think if I was ever to play my Didg' outside in Edinburgh, this is exactly the place I would choose. The sound you get from the the hard surfaces curving the sound back around yourself is amazing.

Nice to meet you Lotus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.