Of rich and royal hue..

By mintlawquine

Portrait of my father

"Old as she was, she still missed her daddy sometimes" or in my case old as I am, I still miss him loads! In case you haven't noticed, it's Fathers' Day today. My father was 4o when this shot was taken, just after he'd been appointed as a lecturer at the new Callendar Park College in Falkirk. It was the early sixties and the post war baby boom had led to a shortage if teachers. Two new training colleges were opened in Scotland to address this need. Within twenty years as the number of children declined again both were closed. He had a great time at Callendar Park, bringing science and technology into primary education, and forging links with the new University of Stirling. I like to think I've inherited his passion for lifelong learning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.