Haikography

By JanBee

Steamrollered

With effortful sighs,
A rumbling from the slow past,
Journeys inch by inch.
A pace from another age,
In the future's toxic wake.


.. in the next village to us is Tinkers Park, where they hold various steam/traction engine rallies (here's a video if you're interested). I have never been to the rally as it's not really my thing, but we often see the engines coming along the road. I have to say they are very impressive beasts.

Anyway coming back from the shops we were stuck behind this one .... once we'd got past I decided to pull in so I could take a few photo's.... I photographed it as it went past.... and then had to overtake it again!

We are so used to speeding through life, it must be strange to be driving one of these and travelling at a slower pace. A bit like being on a canal boat I suppose. The driver has time to exchange pleasantries with passers by and an excuse to stop off at pubs en route to fill up with water.... quite pleasant really.

I wonder how long it takes them to get to the rally ... presumably they have to set off a few weeks in advance!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.