Every Day Is A holiday!

By musings

Portrait Collage - Aria

I'm finished...this one has been a long time in the making. It started as simply a collage of papers that I'd made last summer while up on Parker Island with artist, NannaK. When I got home I decided to disassemble the artist board, and pulled off the canvas. Then I took the canvas and split it into sections and put it onto another canvas, working out additional designs of the "sugar plum fairies". This is an interim version of the piece.

At that point the "Portrait" wasn't even a consideration...but as much as I loved the collage, it wasn't finished. Voila....why not paint my granddaughter onto the collage......EEK? Really? Can I? Would I?

Hey, why not, nothing lost, nothing gained! So I went about finding a photo that I loved and then outlining the figure and out came the paints and I went for it. I'm still a little amazed that it turned out looking like her, but I really felt like it captured the look she had in the photograph!

I showed it to her, and she really loved it...so it's her present...from her "Gammie". Who better to enjoy it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.