Scribbler

By scribbler

Meteorology

Mid-June cloudburst and hailstorm. SOOC.

I learned during recent posts of clouds that I could learn to predict the weather from them, but nothing led me to expect today's experience. There were a few drenching rains interspersed with sunshine and dramatic cloudscapes. Later in the afternoon, the heavens opened and rain poured down like a waterfall. As I watched, it began to hail.

By the time of this image the hail had stopped, but you can still see the glowering sky and the wind-tossed trees. The hailstones lay deep enough for the cars to leave tracks as they went past. Hail briefly clogged the storm drains. It was altogether a dramatic experience, with clattering ice and thunder rolls and lightning, but happily I got to enjoy it from indoors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.