Windows in Time

By ColourWeaver

Three Little Windows

Monday was recovery day after the longer than expected walk yesterday, in which the bus to Quarr Abbey was going to be diverted, because of a serious accident in the village of Binstead, about a mile from the Abbey. The road is set at 40mph, but some drivers still think they can travel faster than that. The area around Binstead is a Black Spot for accidents.

I walked ten miles yesterday before deciding to catch the bus, because of supper was served at 7pm. The two additional miles was not expected, but had to be walked if I wanted to get back to Quarr. My feet was the only form of transport... So, yes I over did it walking wise. A combination of heat (at least ten degrees warmer than the Orkneys) and the lack of buses on a Sunday.

Today I have attended breakfast between 0730-0800 on my own this morning. Various Daily Offices of Holy Mass 0900; Sext 1300; Lunch 1320; None 1420; Vespers 1700; Supper 1900; Compline 2000. Holy Mass was a mixture of English and Latin, as is Sext and None. However, everything else was in Latin. I never studied Latin, but my ear is getting tuned into Latin singing/chanting of the Psalms over this last week. so, just another fourteen days to learn something of the sung prayers of thanksgiving before and after lunch, which incase you have not guessed, is in Latin as well!

P.S,
All meals are in silence! So, no talking...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.