4 LUV of Life

By Russ

My most prized possession

My wife won this signed Tony Gwynn Jersey in a $1.00 Safeway fund raiser.
We were privileged to see Tony play most of his career & were present for the '84, 96 & '98 play off & World Series games. He was not only a great ball player but a great person with humility & love of all people great or ordinary. I never got close to him but it still hurts that he is gone. It is a comfort that I will get to personally meet him in front of the throne of God our father. Tony would probably still be here if it wasn't for smokeless tobacco products of which I have read often had finely ground glass in them to cut ones cheek to get the drug into one's system faster. Tony once said that when he tried to stop using tobacco it made him nervous & messed with his game but if he had never started there would not have been a problem. Remember Mr. Gwynn & don't use tobacco. I would give up my prized Tony Gwynn jersey to have Tony back & healthy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.