OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Otter near Mull Head

This is very cropped- it was difficult to get close to across the shore.
I walked from Lighthouses Corner along the road to East Denwick farm and through the gate into Mull Head Reserve. Down to the shore and west a little toward the Covenanters' Memorial. It was a bit early to have my coffee but I went down to the shore and into the lea of the cliff to have a cup. The tide was very low and I thought it might be a good idea to watch out for otters yet was really surprised to almost immediately see this one eating a large fish by the water's edge. I watched for ten minutes and managed to get a fair bit closer without being noticed. Upon finishing the meal he (and I think it was a large dog otter) slipped into the water, disturbed some eider ducks and was gone. More shots of other stuff here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.