Stuck in Snow

It was sunny and 75 degrees in Seattle when my teenage son, Patrick, and friend set off for a hike at Snoqualmie pass. A few hours later, I got a call, "We are stuck in the snow." I couldn't imagine how they could be stuck in snow since the trailhead for the hike was right off the highway. After going back and forth with tow trucks and my son, I learned that my son was also locked out of the car and basically lost. I drove the 1-1/2 hours up to the Summit and spent another hour texting with him and trying to ascertain where he was. Finally, we met up and he started guiding me to his car. I freaked out when I realized he had drive more than 3 miles up a logging road full of potholes and rocks, "What were you thinking!!!!" We finally found the stranded car. I freaked out again when I realized he had tried to drive over the snow field because he thought his all-wheel drive would get him over it.

We dug for an hour and cleared the wheels but the car still wouldn't budge. Finally, we drove down the road, flagged down a GOOD SAMARITAN who, after some work, towed the car out of the snow.

Whew! Very stressful day but a hysterical memory!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.