Still Here!

By Yorkhull

Pakenham WaterMill

I had a lovely evening in Suffolk and was late setting off for my meeting in Cambridge. I passed some lovely countryside but had determined it get a blip of the windmill I had obliquely blipped yesterday. Unfortunately I only got a couple of shots and then had to drive on to make my meeting. So here it is.

Some quick facts:

The parish of Pakenham is unique in Britain in having both a working watermill and a working windmill. The 18th century watermill, the last working watermill in Suffolk and now owned by the Suffolk Building Preservation Trust, is on a Domesday site. Here, for almost a thousand years, millers have been using the simple technology of water power to produce stone-ground wholemeal flour from locally-grown wheat. The mill is maintained and operated by a team of dedicated volunteers who continue the tradition.

Sorry struggling with comments, it's been a busy two days and am somewhat tired now. Tomorrow evening I will catch up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.