No Static

By nostatic

Going

A tough old day of argument and counter-argument.

1999 was a funny old year - a miserable first half spent in a job I didn't like in a city I no longer wanted to live in, an excellent summer holiday to Rhodes (soundtracked by Belle & Sebastian, Wilco and Snow Patrol) and an eventual return to Edinburgh to start post-university life properly. Music wise things were very much as they were in 98, the odd bit of great guitar music being eclipsed by the drum and bass, beats and hip-hop. A lot of the stuff I was listening to back then hasn't aged all that well and it's the guitar-based acts that have stood the test of time better. Having said that two of my all time favourite hip hop albums were released that year and those still sound great today - Black on Both Sides by Mos Def and Brand New Second Hand by Roots Manuva. I was going to choose something from one of those albums, but instead I'm going to pick a song that's beauty struck me from the first moment I heard it. Daniella by Shack is everything an acoustic ballad should be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.