Tuesday: Hamming It Up

The Globe Theatre is aiming to take its production of 'Hamlet' to every country in the world.  A cast set off from the UK seven weeks ago and so far they have covered twenty countries with tonight's performance being in Zagreb.

It was in a great little theatre downtown and was so full that K. and I had tickets to sit on the stairs.  We thoroughly enjoyed it - the performances were excellent and it also felt like a little slice of home.  The cast was great - they were so small that they had two or three roles each.  Ophelia, to my mind, was the best.  My only criticism would be concerning Hamlet who, for me, lacked some of the dignity of the role.  His descent into fake madness started all a bit too early so that it seemed like it was just the way he was, rather than a calculated move on his part.

An excellent evening!  Sadly no photography allowed, as you would expect, but here is a sneaky shot of the set before the start.

I wonder if every country in the world might be a bit ambitious - I can't see this going very smoothly in some countries.........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.