Another Mixed Day

After all the rain over night and this morning the afternoon turned out lovely. I was still tried after yesterday and I didn't sleep that all so thought I would take the car into the city and a have a quick walk around.

All went well until I noticed that all the photos I was taking were on flash mode after taking the shot of the box yesterday. Normally I return the camera to my normal settings after using the flash.. but forget and I didn't check before taking the shots. So I thought I better back track and retake them all over again. As I wanted to get the shots of the Centennial Pool coming down as it well not take too long.

On my back tracking as I was taking a shot looking towards the city centre I heard the crash.. so turned around and got a quick shot .. which isn't in good focus as I had to take it so fast. The asian woman had gone through a red light.. no one was hurt and I told the guy I had taken the shot and seen what happened. There was a guy behind him who was also a witness but he was from Auckland and was on his way to the airport so only left his name and number.

It was a long wait for the cops and it took so long to get every thing write down etc. The police wanted me to email the shot to them. William the guy who was in the right told me he only had the vehicle six weeks and it was brand new. It turned out the asian woman was not insured and offered him $10,000 not to inform the police.. William said no way! After that she said that he went through the red light not her. So there could be some trouble with this case! Glad I was there to be of some help.

So my short outing of which should have been not more than half a hour, turned into just about three hours, now I well behind in the things I needed to catch up on today. And my photos taken on flash mod I have found out are all Ok I just changed the exposure. Maybe it was meant to be that I there to be a witness for William!

To get back to the other shots.. the demolition of the Centennial Pool complex has just started and as you can see in some of the shots there was a lot of protest over the demolition. I had used the pool a number of and it wasn't very old building but had some earthquake damage and was deemed unrepairable. There were a lot of bathing costumes over the fence along with these posters. It looked very colourful.

Here is what I found out about what is happening with the site:

The Centennial Recreation and Sport Centre is the last building remaining on the site of the new Margaret Mahy Family Playground which is being developed in the block bordered by Manchester, Armagh and Madras Streets and Oxford Terrace, as part of the Avon River Precinct and North and East Frames.

Christchurch Central Development Unit director Warwick Isaacs says the demolition is a significant step for the playground, and will allow the construction work to begin later this year.

"We are creating what will be one of the most amazing playgrounds in New Zealand, and potentially the world, and we are all very excited about seeing it come to life. It will have a huge range of play areas and equipment, and by virtue of bordering the East Frame's residential area, I know it will quite quickly become a busy, popular place for children of all ages and their families."

Mr Isaacs says the complex will be demolished by a high reach excavator and the job will take around eight weeks to complete. It is being carried out by Jurgens Demolition.

The demolition will have little impact on traffic using the surrounding roads as the pool complex is set back from the street.

"But as with many demolitions, this will be of interest, so we just ask that people take care while in the area," Mr Isaacs says.
Taken from this article.


Tomorrow I well let you know what I find in the box... from my blip yesterday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.