My Best Efforts - Year 3

By AMC

A Follow Up.....

.........I was surprised how many folk showed interest in my MonoMonday: "Through the Window" - and because that shot really did not do justice to the window, here it is in colour and showing the whole. Every pane of glass is original (dating back to 1887) and the arched brickwork and carved stonework are, I think, exceptional on what were intended as two homes for the "down and out" women of the village! Can you imagine how many work hours must have been spent on it - all for what were, originally, charity cottages!! I can't see it happening today!

Originally, each of the two cottages would have consisted of one room plus a small kitchen, an outside lavatory - (which, in those days, would have not much more than a hole in the ground with a seat over it), a wash house and coal store. We think there may have been a very small garden or yard to the rear. The cottage now consists of a Dining Room, Sitting Room, Kitchen, Bathroom and very small bedroom.

Not that many years ago, there was a large detached house with a big garden behind the cottages but more recently the house was demolished and a block of two storey flats was built - what was their garden was turned into a car parking area for the flats - and part of the yard or garden belonging to the cottages was, we think, incorporated into the car park.

Shame!!.....

Now I have a bit more time, I'm going to try to find out more. The local Planning Office have been less than helpful! - and few local people seem to remember exactly what happened. I may have to go to Lincoln but as my walking is a bit limited that may be a problem. We shall have to see!

Weather is rather cloudy but bright this morning - temperature at 59Deg. F. at the moment - a more sunny afternoon is forecast.

Now, having probably bored the pants off you - I will upload!! - have a good day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.