Where sheep may safely roam

Another scorcher - that's a whole week of it! Last night was so beautiful we just couldn't come in. I went swimming again at 8.30pm and it was heavenly, then we went to the pub and got in a very deep conversation about stone circles which we pretended to understand but didn't really, someone with their own very precise theory; and it was still so light as we strolled home around half past 10.

Today we decided to have a holiday - no work, no chores, and took ourselves off to Mt Gabriel, the highest mountain in our area and one we have never ventured up. Talk about mad dogs and Englishmen. It was sweltering but the views were amazing though a bit hazy for blipping. We stared as someone cycled up and he could still speak! More about Mt Gabriel on my friend Robert's blog.

Back down towards Schull we stopped off to investigate a derelict school as you do - lovely colours inside. Himself was busy getting his wide angled lens organsied and I went outside. There was a huge amount of baaing going on and suddenly the whole flock sped passed me, accompanied by the shepherd on his quad bike and two dogs. It was almost like my recent experience in Clonakilty! I was sitting quietly in the bank surrounded by foxgloves.

Lunch in Schull where short-wearing has broken out with a vengeance , then a long leisurely swim - it almost felt warm.

Spurred on by all this weather we are heading off to Cape Clear Island tomorrow. I have consulted the forecast and it looks good and the wind is calm. This can be a bit of a lively journey over and I have no sea legs whatsever. We are throwing caution to the wind and staying the night! Basking sharks have been sighted there too.

And I've been a free woman for a whole year!

Edit: hilariously another blipper caught the same scene, and look there's my car!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.