Baby Swallow

For a few weeks now I've been watching the nest-building and egg-sitting of a pair of swallows. Now I'm delighted to say that I've counted at least three little heads surfacing each time the parents come and feed the newly hatched babies.

The nest is right above our front door, so we keep comings and goings to a minimum and, touch wood, haven't scared them away so far. This is taken from inside the hall. The glass above the door is acting as one wall of the nest.

Don't you love this big flat baby beak and those downy strands of feather sticking out of the top of its bald head? Squeee!

(NB I've taken very few photos. I hide until the parents fly off and then give it a quick go. I'd rather settle for poor quality shots than scare off the parents.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.