That Will Do!

By flumgummery

My Friend Blipfoto...

...a title that was never written.

I began reading the semi-autobiographical novels of Jane Duncan when I was in my late teens; my mother brought them from the library as they were published and I picked them up when she had finished.

Then, sometime in the 1980's, as a young mother, I began to read them again, but with a different take on the characters.

A few years ago, as finances allowed, I began to purchase them and now have the complete set of nineteen novels in the 'My Friend...' series, in whatever form or condition, and am plodding through them all over again. I might try to obtain hardbacks to replace the three battered paperbacks, but purely for readability - a bibliophile would not regard my various copies as a collection. I also have her autobiography, 'Letters From Reachfar', which explains the parallels between the novels and her own experience.

We were fortunate visit the author's house in Jemimaville recently, where she lived from 1962 until her death in 1976. I have backblipped it here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.