redridergirl

By redridergirl

A Light In the Attic

There's a light on in the attic.
Though the house is dark and shuttered,
I can see a flickerin' flutter,
And I know what it's about.
There's a light on in the attic.
I can see it from the outside,
And I know you're on the inside ... lookin' out.


-Shel Silverstien


This one took a while. First I had to find the darn lamp, which was way in the back of the attic. (I call it an attic, but really, its just a crawlspace.) The shade has been gone for years. Then I plugged it in, and found that the bulb was dead. Replaced the bulb, and turned it on: much better. Then had to put new batteries in the camera. Took one or two shots on the current manual settings to get a feel for it. Adjusted the focus. Adjusted the shutterspeed. Adjusted the the aperature. Turned the flash off. Took a few more shots. And adjusted some more...
Does nothing work the first time?
When I finally got to the point where the thing was bright enough (the lamp is ancient and is only like 30 watts), the shots were blurry because the shutter speed was on 1 sec. Had to set it on a stack of movie cases.
All that for you guys.
But it worked.
I had a good time

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.