Life Savors

By osuzanna

As Good as it Gets

....is a 1997 romantic comedy that starred Helen Hunt and Jack Nicholson. Nicholson plays Melvin Udall a misanthropic, dysfunctional, acid-tongued writer of romance novels who suffers from obsessive-compulsive disorder, and takes pride in his ability to offend just about everyone. Helen Hunt is a waitress and ultimately his love interest, is the only one to stand up to him.

In one scene Jack Nicholson says to a group of depressed psychiatric patients:
"What if this is as good as it gets?”

Well....because of the unbelievably oppressive humidity, I was unable to get the shots I had hoped for at sunset. Even then the temperature was still near 90 and I was plagued by persistent condensation on my lens. I finally threw in the towel and headed home to snap one of these peonies. Thank goodness I bought them today. Apparently I always need to have a back-up plan.

So yes, Melvin, this is a good as it gets, tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.