Return to the North

By Viking

Bit of bluster!

had to head to gore again today for a bloody pointless meeting. 1.5 hour drive each way for a meeting that went from 10am until 11.50am and 80% that was useless. Makes my blood boil when I have a pile of work on my desk I could have been doing. hey ho! I headed out with a colleague at 8am and drove into the sunrise, all the time thinking I really should stop for a shot but didn't, being conscious of the time. Even when we hit Browns and the fight between the seriously black cloud and the sunrise was amazing (also had an amazing effect on the greens of the landscape)
So after getting back to school this afternoon and having a chat to staff I drove pout about 5pm up to McCracken's Rest. It had been breezy (OK windy) in Gore but then had died down a bit as we got into Tui but my God as I headed out of Tui the breeze was now a full on gale - nearly blowing me off the road on more than one occasion.

Got to McCracken's rest, took a dozen shots and came straight back home again to a warm room!
I love this shot because it gives some idea of the broiling nature of the weather down here today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.