gennepher

By gennepher

A pioneer of CinemaScope hidden in a yew tree...

This grave was hidden inside a yew tree in a graveyard in Keswick. The inscription was facing the dark interior of this massive yew tree.

Out of the corner of my eye I noticed the word ARTIST, so I pushed myself into the yew tree and took photos best I could.

The inscription says...

IN MEMORY OF
JOHN KNOX
LATE OF GLASGOW
ARTIST
who died Jan (y) 5th 1845 in the
67th Year of his Age
ALSO OF SARAH HIS WIFE
WHO DIED MAY 24TH 1855 IN THE 74TH
YEAR OF HER AGE

John Knox was a Glaswegian artist. There is an article here which explains a little about this artist, and his descendent who believe he has not been honoured properly.

Knox apparently had become known as one of Scotland's original painters of panoramas. These were scenes of battles, cities,and landscapes. The panoramas were painted on thousands square feet of canvas and mounted in wooden rotundas. Then they were toured across the country. Admission was a shilling. So, it could be said Knox was an early pioneer of CinemaScope.

Sadly all the panoramas were destroyed.

There is a slideshow here of 21 of his paintings.

I will make these links live in a moment from another device. All my photos on Nexus which d0es not allow me live links in main body of text...back in a mo...okay all done, links are now live where it says here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.