The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Dark Green Fritillary

Another day, another butterfly. This is the first of the big fritillaries on the wing this year, the Dark Green Fritillary, named for the greenish sheen to the underside of the wings. I had just reversed into our drive after work when I saw it fly onto the red valerian outside our entrance. This is exactly what I was hoping for when I planted the red valerians a few years ago, as you can see, it has a long corolla tube that attracts long-tongued pollinators, like butterflies and some moths, to probe for nectar. Here you can see the long proboscis probing below the insect. It's a new garden tick for me, we have had the much rarer High Brown Fritillary before, but not this.

A long and busy day, and now it's time for Gus's evening walk on the estuary. I shall probably be absent for a few days after tonight - lots to sort out, and a trip away. Thanks for all your kindness and support.

Another shot of the butterfly here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.