Boundary Dwellers

By Hell4Murph

Industry and Enlightenment

Plus a touch of the East.

High School Yards, now the Centre for Carbon Innovation. Behind me, the Old Royal Infirmary. Around me, buildings full of research into new technology. In front of me, the chimneys of (I think) an old boiler house and the former Infirmary St Baths (with their life enhancing actual baths for the residents of the nearby Cowgate slums, and what must have seemed revolutionary Turkish Baths). Between the chimneys, the Golden Boy, holding aloft a torch to light our way from ignorance to knowledge (and understanding?).

That's Edinburgh for you, if we can just remember and continue.

the East? I reckon the two roofs below the first chimney have a hint of China in their lines).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.