Aspiring to be better

By growl3th

Helen the volunteer

Tonight we met up with a friend, I'll call her Helen as that's her name, for tea/coffee/late. After tonight we'll see Helen once more and then for the next two years she'll be doing voluntary work in Zanzibar.

The two hours sped past in ten minutes. Can those women talk!!! Me? I provided the quick quips and funny bits (well some of them). Two of my favourite women who I always feel relaxed with.

I owe a lot to Helen as she gave me my first job after a few years out of the workplace. It wasn't a high powered executive post but it gave me some more confidence in myself and when it ended she pointed me in the direction of my current job (I'm sure she also recommended me but have never been able to prove that).

So thank you Helen.

There might actually be two more "Helen" blips before she goes as next Friday we will be attending her leaving party sort of thing. But she also mentioned tonight that her church were giving her a blessing the Sunday before she goes. Might just surprise her and be there as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.