Still Here!

By Yorkhull

A triple whammy

I can't say its been the best day today, having just arrived home after a lot of driving and some sadness and disappointment alongside a reasonable dinner (see pic).

So mid morning I had to drive to Lincoln for the funeral of one of the guys I had got to know through the cancer support forum. Always a sad situation but I have to say that Mick was given a great send off and having requested everyone to turn up in BBQ gear it was a colourful and celebratory atmosphere.

I then drove to Sheffield in time for an awards evening in our faculty. Our team who had guided the re accreditation of our programme in Hong Kong were nominated for an award and we were one of 12 nominations. Anyway this meant I could not watch the football.

I tried to get online to watch the game but it was a struggle as wifi was poor. The dinner was ok and the speeches prolonged and a little boring. Anyway I got a connection to see Rooney equalise but then lost it and someone informed our table we were losing.

At this point the results were announced. There were four prizes, a highly commended, we didn't win that, two runners up we didn't win those and the winner, And you can guess we didn't win that either. So with England losing and the award gone elsewhere I can conclude that giving Mick a great send off was the highlight of my day by some distance. RIP Mick!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.