Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Eye soar or eyesore?

I've never been a fan of the London Eye. I think it diminishes the riverside views and dwarfs the Houses of Parliament. I agree it has some merit as a structure and there's no doubt that it's a big attraction, probably one of the most photographed features of the capital. But it shouldn't have been sited where it was. It could have been installed somewhere further up river or down river near the 02 arena, perhaps. I hate the way it has transformed the south bank around County Hall in to a tawdry tourist area with living statues and ice cream vans. London deserves better than that. The city was pretty quiet tonight as people packed the pubs or went home to watch the England v Uruguay match. I'm glad I missed it but I'm sorry for the team, they haven't played too badly in the bits I've seen. I wonder what odds you'd get now for England to win the tournament? William Hill say 80/1.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.