misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Beautiful Spring (almost summer) Day

I spent quite while in the garden this morning snapping likely blip subjects. I nearly went with the beautiful blue sky, or fluffy clouds and a bright blue sky. I shall save those for one of those dark winter days when I have nearly forgotten what a blue sky looks like and i need cheering up.
This garden selection shows the vertically erupting mullien with its thickly felted leaves. We shall see it again when the single flower stalk grows to 8 or 9 feet tall. (Stay tuned)
The yellow flowers are Sundrops. They will bloom until frost and they are now appearing in different parts of the garden... self-seeding. The blooming rosa rugosa hedge stands in the back. There were a lot more deep pink single roses on the bushes today, but each morning I clip them off. These exceptionally fragrant flower petals go into the cooking pot and any bruised or discoloured ones go into a mixed basket with other flowers or leaves for potpourri -- also a wintertime reminder of these precious days.
Once the cooking pot is full, sugar will be added, and a small amount of water. Then it will be heated just to boiling, turned off, and covered to let the flavors marinate. This pot of rose petals will make a batch of Rose Petal Jam and/or some Rose Petal Syrup -- divine on pancakes.
This year I am pleased to say that there are NO Japanese Beetles. Last year I had to get up before dawn to get any rose petals because the beetles sat on each rose bud, mating prolifically, and ready to start munching as soon as the buds opened with the sun.
I suspect (or hope) that the exceptionally long and frozen ice-cold winter may have killed off the larvae under the soil. I certainly hope so since it is usually by this time that they are out in full force.
An enjoyable day... tomorrow a visit to the spine doctor to see what's wrong after the fall down a few stairs I made while in Philly.
I may get a Binghamton blip if possible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.