Friday Foto

By drmackem

Me Ma

Mum came down from Durham for the day and we went to the test match at Headingley to see England play Sri Lanka.

Unlike other versions of "England" this lot seemed to know how to use the ball and deny their opponents the opportunities to score.

The sun shone and to watch those legends of the game Sangakarra and Jayawardene, then the wickets fell, a hat trick for Broady and a five-for for Plunket and we hadn't then thrown it all away but close of play.
I simply love test cricket more than any other form of the game - five 7 hour long days of play, a language of it's own, singing, strawberries, beer and the occasional snooze interspersed with skill and psychological games, and all that history. Today it was all about putting that ball in the corridor of uncertainty and letting uncertainty trick the opponents.

30 years ago when I sat on these terraces with my dad, I never thought that 30 years later I'd do the same with my mum. It was a joy and an honour to share the day, the unrushed converstation, and some very fine cricket in lovely sunshine.

My mum rocks!

Btw thanks for the love and favs and spotlight for my Badgerstone Shot

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.