Orchid99

By orchid99

Such a bl**dy clever machine !

Cologne ticket machines are very clear. There are instructions in a range of languages and you are taken through each stage carefully. Well, that's the theory.

I wanted a day ticket. I knew the price. I had the money. I had my credit card. But it wouldn't take my 5 euro note. Then it didn't want my card. I did call it something in English !!!!!

I didn't want to hold anyone up so I let a German couple go in front of me. Even they didn't find it straightforward. But it did take their card at the third attempt (and after a German expletive that I can't spell)

Four Italians wanted four simple tickets. Simple ? Not quite ! There was a word uttered that I have not heard in an opera.... but eventually it was OK.

A Japanese girl had been watching patiently and helpfully. It took her two goes as well - and she did say something interesting and with unusual passion.

She changed my note and I was lucky in the end.

Clever machine ! So clever I hope it understood the multi-lingual names on this ordinary Friday afternoon.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.