Hyperionides

By HaxSyn

Quakers

Another hot and sunny day in the 'burgh. After yesterday I decided to stay out of the sun for most of the day until mid-afternoon when I wandered around to The Shore and sat on a bench in the sun for a while. There were a number of duck families paddling around unfortunately they didn't come very close to the water's edge so I couldn't get a nice close up of the baby ducks, I did get a couple nice close up of some adult ducks and a couple seagulls but I really wanted a shot of the baby ducks. I took heaps of photos over the period of a couple hours, whenever they came close(ish). A lot of them didn't come too clear because of the bright sun being behind them, so I ended up picking this for today's Blip.

After I while I decided I'd had enough sun and retreated to The Vintage Bar, where there was some football on, I'm indifferent about football but ended up watching it as it was on. I also got a couple wee freebies from the bar staff, I saw the barmaid (actually I think she's officially the restaurant manager or something) pouring a glass of champagne and adding something else to it, when I queried what it was she poured me a wee glass of champagne with what turned out to be "Crème de cassis" and although I normally do not like champagne it tasted rather nice. They were also changing to a new summer menu and the chef gave the bar staff a plate to try, it was (I think) bramble sorbet with vanilla ice cream on meringue and "biscuit". I also got to try one of their new main courses Pigeon Pastrami, Blood Orange Jelly & Segments with Chicory and apricot paste which was really good too!

Oh and England lost to Uruguay...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.