suehutton

By suehutton

Poppies At Sunset

A friend had told me of a field of poppies in north Nottinghamshire. I sallied forth at 7pm hoping to catch the sight in the hour before sunset. This meant travelling up the M! to Junction 29 and then turning east. Although Google's directions were fairly clear, its estimates of distances were not, and I failed at the last set of roundabouts, turning southeast when I should have gone northeast. The maps were too small.

Many thanks to the friendly cashier at the Total garage on the A614 who was able to pinpoint my position. Returning the way I came, I estimated that I would be too late to find the field in time but I had spotted another poppy field at Langwith. Parked up on the side of the road, I ventured into a field of ripening rape seed with tripod and camera. The poppies were head high. And I wouldn't have made it to the part of the field where the sun was still shining because the light was going fast.

So here you have poppies with the sun going down behind the trees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.