Adventures

By asussexlady

Childhood Memories

Back in my hometown of Crawley this week. Today, a grey, wet early summer's day, I took a walk into the town centre and walked past the memorial gardens - and the playground I used to play in. Of course it's not all it once was; Health & Safety no doubt leading to the removal of some equipment and the renovation of others. There's a new set of swings, with new soft tarmac, none of the hard asphalt like my generation had! But fundamentally, it's still the same. The yellow monkey bars I remember struggling on so many times (and falling off of plenty of times), the red climbing frame I used to scramble up, the bendy slide.. Lots of happy memories. Nobody playing today, maybe kids don't go out in the rain anymore. It never stopped me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.