The Stream in the Park

Today is the shortest day of the year. It has come around very quickly. I visited Pollard Park this morning. I wandered around photographing the winter trees. Having shed their summer clothing they look magnificent in their winter nakedness.
Then I came across this lovely stream. Most nearby trees were bare but the willows are still hanging onto the last of their leaves. The reflections in the water were lovely, the colours so intense and of course I figured it would make a very nice image for a blip.
Tonight I joined the over 500 people of all ages, from little children in arms to fit oldies, in walking the Wither Hills in the dark. This “Walk in the Park in the Dark” is a very popular annual event which takes place on the shortest day. It is a fun event with a sausage sizzle, hot Milo drinks, music and this year, for the first time, a great fireworks display once everyone was safely down from the hills. This event has grown into something rather special. It is great to see hundreds with torches and lanterns winding their way up then down the hill tracks. It is special for me as I instigated the event many years ago now by suggesting we do a walk in the park in the dark at the Winter Solstice. I was on the Council and able to see my idea become reality. It is very gratifying to see just how popular the walk has become and to see that is still growing from strength to strength.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.