Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Shabby Chic In The Garden

Yesterday a neighbour offered me this wheelbarrow with the idea that I would use it as a planter. I'm quite excited by the idea as I love to extend the life of something that would normally be discarded. And I love my garden, although I consider myself quite a novice!

The plants in it right now were purchased today and will probably be used in other containers in my garden, but the wheelbarrow was a handy place to put them while they wait to be planted up. I thought they looked rather nice there and give an idea of how it might look eventually.

I have quite a large area around my side door which tends to be a 'dumping ground' and I would like to 'brighten it up' with some large planters. The Wheelbarrow may stay in this area as it may be a bit big for my back garden. So I would appreciate some ideas from all you gardeners out there! What would you plant in the wheelbarrow? Maybe a combination of flowers and herbs, since the side door leads to my kitchen?

I've already done some research and have found some interesting ideas on some gardening websites - here, and here, and here, and here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.