Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Dusk, Llyn y Fign, Snowdonia

There comes a time, in most of the treks I go on, when I question my sanity. It is usually while I am dripping in sweat, facing a steep ascent. I ask myself why I put myself through this kind of pain, what's in it for me?

Hopefully, this picture will give you some idea.

We had walked 10 miles, climbed over 800 metres to reach Aran Fawddwy, before a ridge walk towards Bala, returning and then descending over 340 metres before a final climb of over 200 metres to reach Galsgwym (the cairn in the distance). This water, Llyn y Fign is the highest lake in Wales. We were the only two people to see this view as the sun set. I have posted a few other images to Flickr.

Much to my irritation my knee gave me a lot of pain during the downhill sections; fortunately I am due a scan this Sunday.

Technical: a straight shot with a 3 stop soft grad. Shadows raised to increase detail in the dark areas, clarity raised to bring out more of the pattern in the high cloud and a touch of vibrance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.